I Lost It at the Video Store: my first published work

Author’s note: I wrote this back in February for The Snipe News.  Below is a preview.

I Lost It at the Video Store: Nostalgia for Days Past

By Jonathan Parkin

Nostalgia lies at the heart of Tom Roston’s I Lost It at the Video Store – a deep-seated yearning for that shining part of our childhood when the movie store was our easiest and often closest form of social enculturation. And it’s resounded with enough of us to make it one of the best indie books of 2015, according to Kirkus Reviews.

In a way, there’s never been a better time for a book like this than right now. If you’re anything like me, you remember the booming nineties as an optimistic place. Growing up during that brief, star-studded period carried all sorts of entertaining prospects for those fortunate enough to be a kid in the Western world during that time. In fact for people of all ages, Vancouver was a mecca with no shortage of exciting things to do: Stanley Park, the Aquarium, Science World, and yearly spectacles like the PNE were just a few. Though it seemed like we were deluged with diversion, my very favourite place to visit was the local video store. It wasn’t a big place – it was family-owned and operated, and wasn’t part of any major chain like Blockbuster or Rogers. But it had a particular sentimental value to it, and not just because of its treasure trove of videos that far outshone my parents’ modest selection of cartoon cassettes and classics of yesteryear. No, for kids like myself the experience was drawn from the excitement of going there every Friday after school and selecting something fun as a treat to kick off the weekend.

The article itself on the site may be found in its entirety here.

 

